You are here


The Office of Academic Affairs facilitates award programs that provide faculty with both monetary rewards and campus-wide recognition. These award programs honor excellence and innovation in research, teaching, advising and learning.

Eminent Faculty Awards

Distinguished Professor Award

Each year, the UL Lafayette Foundation sponsors the recognition of two faculty members who excel in research, scholarship or creative works, and who demonstrates a commitment to and effectiveness in teaching and who make significant contributions to campus life and the community. The award program first began in 1965 with the recognition of Ms. Cora S. Savoy, Dr. Amos Simpson, Dr. Thomas Francis Maher, and Dr. Richard W. Traxler, and Dr. Ray P. Authement. Since then more than 150 faculty members have been honored for their accomplishments.

Dr. Ray P. Authement Excellence in Teaching Award

Beginning in 1992, the UL Foundation sponsors the recognition of faculty for outstanding teaching with the Dr. Ray P. Authement Excellence in Teaching Award. The award seeks faculty who have demonstrated a commitment to and effectiveness in teaching, as evidenced through their instructional innovation, the performance of current students and past graduates in graduate school, or professional careers.

Leadership Service Award

The UL Foundation established the LEadership Service Award to recognize faculty each year for efforts in guiding their students through course-specific civic engagement and service learning. This work is a vital educational experience for the students and contributes to the development of the University and community.

Eminent Faculty Awards Guidelines

Outstanding Advisor Award

The Academic Success Center recognizes exemplary faculty advisors each year with the Outstanding Advisor Award. The awards program was established in 1999 by recognizing an individual advisor, and then beginning in 2005 began acknowledging the achievements of multiple faculty members each year.