You are here

Politcal Science Scholarships

Top Stories

Volunteer for a University committee for the 2017-2018 year

Each spring, faculty and staff are asked to volunteer for a University committee by completing the University Commit

Read More ➝

Service-Learning and Civic Engagement

The below link leads to the Annual Survey of Service-Learning and Civic Engagement for activities over the past acad

Read More ➝

The Department of Political Science is able to award scholarships ranging from $1,000 to $2,000.00 each for students in any academic major who plan on attending law school in Fall 2017. The deadline to apply is Friday, November 11. Copies of the information sheet are available in the Political Science departmental office.

Scholarship: The Tom and Lena Ritchie Endowed Memorial Scholarship

Amount of Award: Awards range from $1,000 to $2,000.00 each.

General Eligibility: Law-school-bound students in any academic major who will graduate in the Fall 2016 or Spring or Summer 2017.

Applicants must meet the following criteria:
        1. Be a U.S. Citizen.
        2. Be a Louisiana Resident.
        3. Be a Senior at the University of Louisiana at Lafayette who will graduate in the  Fall 2016, Spring 2017 or Summer 2017 semesters.
        4. Have a minimum cumulative GPA of 3.0.
        5. Intend to begin law school in the Fall 2017.

A completed application consists of the following:
1. An official UL transcript.
2. A signed letter from the applicant briefly affirming that he or she (a) is a U.S. citizen and (b) is a Louisiana resident and (c) will graduate from UL-Lafayette in the Fall 2016, Spring 2017 or Summer 2017 semester and (d) intends to begin law school in the Fall 2017.
3. One letter of recommendation.
4. A professional resumé.
5. Evidence of intent to begin law school in the Fall of 2017 by having either taken or registered for the LSAT, as demonstrated either by an LSAT score report or admission ticket for upcoming LSAT.

For more information and to submit all application material in electronic or hard copy please contact: Dr. Jason Maloy, Department of Political Science,